By Roger Chartier

United States of America IRS Tax Information

When Roger has some spare time, he posts here. Good articles!


Which states are not collecting a state sales tax for their government and who are they?

For starters there are 5 states that do not have a sales tax.

Here they are:

  1. Alaska
  2. Delaware
  3. New Hampshire
  4. Montana
  5. Oregon

These are off of the list from the beginning

They don't even have a sales tax, but of the states that do have a regular sales tax
and are not yet paying Amazon the list is here:
  1. Maine
  2. Vermont
  3. Alabama
  4. Mississippi
  5. Louisiana
  6. Arkansas
  7. Oklahoma
  8. Michigan
  9. Ohio
  10. Missouri
  11. Illinois
  12. Iowa
  13. Nebraska
  14. South Dakota
  15. Wyoming
  16. Colorado
  17. New Mexico
  18. Utah
  19. Wyoming
  20. Idaho

Started collecting on October 1, 2014

Minnesota and Maryland ...and I am sure that they knew the change was coming so they bought everything they wanted to buy ahead of time to save the sales tax burden before the October 1 Deadline.

South Carolina is lined up to start collecting sales tax for Amazon in 2016.

The rest of the states?

So far the other states in the US of A are collecting and have been for a while.

 This is a problem for those states who collect a tax and their neighbors who do not.

There are people who are not happy about the inequality of this whole thing.

Some are buying the a prodect at say $1,000.00 on Amazon and are paying a 6% tax = $60.00.

Their next door neighbor who is across the state line pays nothing in tax for the same purchase because his state does not collect that tax..

TaxMan123 Blog

Roger Chartier - The Author